Upcoming Well Water Testing Clinics

More than 15 million Americans rely on private, household wells for drinking water. Testing your water frequently is an important part of well maintenance. 

Area Virginia Cooperative Extension offices will host several drinking water clinics over the next few months to address any water concerns, as well as collect water for sampling.

You must pre-register with the Extension Agent in your area. Below are the sample collection dates and contact person.

WHAT DOES IT COST?
Participation in a drinking water clinic includes analysis for 14 chemical and bacteriological constituents. Since analysis occurs at our cost recovery lab, the analysis is $52. Comparable analysis at a private commercial lab would cost more than $300.

WHAT DOES IT TEST FOR?
Samples are analyzed for the following: iron, manganese, nitrate, lead, arsenic, fluoride, sulfate, pH, total dissolved solids, hardness, sodium, copper, total coliform bacteria and E. Coli bacteria.

LIST OF UPCOMING WELL WATER TESTING CLINICS

Franklin Sample collection: October 17 Cynthia Martel
cmartel@vt.edu
540-483-5161
Henry Sample collection: October 17 Melanie Barrow
mwbarrow@vt.edu
276-634-4650
Lynchburg Sample collection: October 31 Kevin Camm
kecamm@vt.edu
434-455-3740
Bedford Sample collection: October 31 Scott Baker
scbaker@vt.edu
540-586-7675
Amherst Sample collection: October 31 Alyssa Elliott
ajelliott@vt.edu
434-946-9365
Appomattox Sample collection: October 31 Bruce Jones
brjones4@vt.edu
434-352-8244
Campbell Sample collection: October 31 Todd Scott
tods08@vt.edu
434-332-9647

 

Learn how to properly collect a water sample by watching the video below. If you have questions about your well or need service, contact Bedford Well Drilling:

Phone: (540) 586-1449
Email: bedfordwell@gmail.com